Rethinking Twitter’s New Retweet Button (Beta)

November 11, 2009 at 9:25 am Leave a comment

So, I got the new Retweet Button feature by Twitter (though currently in its beta phase) last Saturday.

Aside from learning that Retweets using this button don’t add to your tweet count, I haven’t fully explored its potential just yet because I got turned off the first time I used it. It does not allow you to insert a message when retweeting someone’s message and for some reason, my RT’s via that new button do not show up on my Twitter widgets on my blog, etc. I’m hoping Twitter will fix that soon, if they haven’t done so already. Also, I’ve heard that only your Twitter followers using web-based Twitter can see the RT’s. If that’s true – that’s not good, as many of us are using Seesmic, Tweetdeck…and how about mobile devices?

But there is one thing that I noticed about it today that I like (finally): it helps with virality. When one of my tweeps RT’d someone, I got to see that other person’s tweet although I wasn’t following her. This feature allowed me to “stumble upon” that person’s tweet – cool! So now, we’re connected.

The new Retweet button has redeemed itself. I’m now excited to see what else Twitter has in store…specifically, how they can improve their new features, including their new Twitter lists.

Well, since Facebook removed their “Highlights” section and added another overwhelming page (now they have a News Feed and Live Feed, in case you haven’t already noticed), I’ve decreased my time on there and have focused more on building my client’s Twitter community. Lately, I’ve been getting a better return on engagement on behalf of my client, via Twitter.

Entry filed under: Social Media. Tags: , , , , , , .

Exploring Google Wave Gadgets

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Going Social

Recent Posts

Feeds

Archives

Join The Conversation!

  • @ryannamba The Body Glove doesn't work too well on the S4; the baby's drool seeped in w/o him even biting it. 3 years ago
  • My baby just broke my new Samsung Galaxy S4 with his drool. 3 years ago
  • @damontucker Thanks! And, yes--your coffee rules! Hands down. Goodnight for now. It's 3:25AM in FL. Aloha! 3 years ago

My Flickr Photos


